Contracting Parties

Content pages

The ICPDR comprises 15 Contracting Parties who have committed themselves to implement the Danube River Protection Convention.

The final goals are to co-operate on fundamental water management issues and to take all appropriate legal, administrative and technical measures to maintain and improve the quality of the Danube River and its environment.

A group of people holding up country shapes posing for a picture

The Contracting Parties to the DRPC presently include Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Moldova, Montenegro, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Serbia, Ukraine and the European Union. The Contracting Parties are represented by delegations to the ICPDR, led by Heads of Delegation.

The legal basis for this international co-operation is the Danube River Protection Convention, which applies to countries whose territory within the Danube River Basin comprises more than 2,000 km².

Apart from those the following countries also co-operate with the ICPDR under the EU Water Framework Directive: Italy, Switzerland, Poland, Albania and North Macedonia.

The Contracting Parties have also committed themselves to the development of the co-ordinated international River Basin Management Plan for the Danube River Basin as requested by the EU Water Framework Directive, and of the co-ordinated international Flood Risk Management Plan for the Danube River Basin as requested by the EU Floods Directive

Contracting PartySignatureEntry into force
Bosnia and Herzegovina-11.07.2005
Czech Republic10.03.199522.10.1998
Republic of Moldova29.06.199429.08.1999
Republic of Serbia-19.08.2003
European Union29.06.199422.10.1998

See the Heads of all Delegations here.