Expert Groups

Technical work within the ICPDR relies heavily on the ICPDR Expert Groups (EGs). These panels of specialists are essential to the operation of the ICPDR; furthermore, EGs link the work of the commmission to the national administration of its contracting parties, as they comprise of national experts and - although with no formal vote - delegates from observers. Expert Groups report to the ICPDR and propose decisions to the commission at its plenary meetings.

Expert Groups typically meet twice a year at changing locations, chaired by Chairpersons elected by the ICPDR upon nomination of the EG. The work of each EG is supported by a Technical Expert from the ICPDR Permanent Secretariat. In addition to the EGs, there are four Task Groups which report to specific EGs and deal with certain in-depth topics.

The Expert Groups have proven vital for allowing the ICPDR to work in a de-centralised manner: the ICPDR deals with a broad range of issues, despite of its small number of staff. This is only possible because most of the technical decisions are prepared through the Expert Group bodies, which draw from over 200 people which are specialists in their respective countries or organisations.

Currently, the ICPDR has 7 regular Expert Groups (River Basin Management, Flood Protection, Pressures and Measures, Accident Prevention and Control, Monitoring and Assessement, Information Management and Geographic Information Systems, Public Participation) and one ad-hoc Expert Group for legal and administrative questions (ad hoc Strategic EG).

Chairs of ICPDR Expert Groups

In the order of respective presentations at ICPDR Ordinary Meetings.

Flood Protection (FP EG)

a man in a suit and tie

Mr. Clemens NEUHOLD (Austria)
Email:  clemens [dot] NEUHOLDatbmlrt [dot] gv [dot] at
Office Phone: +43 1 71100 607159

Monitoring & Assessment (MA EG)

a man wearing a suit and tie smiling at the camera Mr. Franz WAGNER (Austria)
Email:  Franz [dot] WAGNERatbmlrt [dot] gv [dot] at
Office Phone:  + 43 1 71100 7125

Pressures & Measures (PM EG)


Mrs Elena TUCHIU (Romania)
Email:  elena [dot] tuchiuatrowater [dot] ro
Office Phone:  + 40 2131 555 35

River Basin Management (RBM EG)

Co-chaired by Germany and the European Commission

a person posing for the camera Ms. Jane KORCK (Germany)
Email: jane [dot] korckatlfu [dot] bayern [dot] de
Office Phone:  + 49 89 9214 4348

Mrs. Daniela Buzica
Email: Daniela [dot] BUZICAatec [dot] europa [dot] eu

Information Management & GIS (IMGIS EG)

icon Mr. Dragos UNGUREANU (Romania)
Email: dragos [dot] ungureanuatrowater [dot] ro
Office Phone: +40 21 315 55 35

Accident Prevention & Control (APC EG)

Co-chaired by Ukraine and Slovenia

icon Mr. Iurii NABYVANETS (Ukraine)
Email:  kravaatuhmi [dot] org [dot] ua
Office Phone:  +380 44 525 12 50
icon Mr. Janez POLAJNAR (Slovenia)
Email:  janez [dot] polajnaratgov [dot] si
Office Phone:  +386 1 4784147

Public Participation (PP EG)

Ms. Susanne BRANDSTETTER (Austria)
Email:  Susanne [dot] BRANDSTETTERatbmlrt [dot] gv [dot] at
Office Phone:  +43 1 71100 7123



  • application/pdf ICPDR Organigram (35.57 KB)
    Structure of the ICPDR including Permanent Secretariat, Expert Groups and Task Groups.


  • » ToR & Workplans
    Here you can found the Terms of Reference and work programs of the ICPDR and its Expert Groups. It is relevant primarily for specialists and people working with the ICPDR.

Share this page