Ecoregions – DRBMP Plan Update 2021 – Map 2

Maps & Data

Within the boundaries of the Danube River Basin, several distinct ecoregions have been defined, based on the different geographical distributions of fauna and flora depending on the natural characteristics of the environment.

To account for the various differences, the EU Water Framework Directive (WFD) requests the definition of surface water types and the development of type-specific ecological classification systems to assess the status of water bodies.

The Danube River Basin District covers nine ecoregions or parts thereof, as defined in Annex XI of the WFD. Each of these represents an area where a similar biodiversity is present, with differing management requirements; they are therefore an important basis for the definition of biologically relevant surface water types.

The ‘Hungarian Lowlands’ region is of particular importance due to its central location in the middle of the basin. Nine Danube River Basin (DRB) countries have territories in this ecoregion: Austria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia and Ukraine.