Ecoregions – DRBMP Plan Update 2021 – Map 2

To account for the various differences, the EU Water Framework Directive (WFD) requests the definition of surface water types and the development of type-specific ecological classification systems to assess the status of water bodies.

The Danube River Basin District covers nine ecoregions or parts thereof, as defined in Annex XI of the WFD. Each of these represents an area where a similar biodiversity is present, with differing management requirements; they are therefore an important basis for the definition of biologically relevant surface water types.

The ‘Hungarian Lowlands’ region is of particular importance due to its central location in the middle of the basin. Nine Danube River Basin (DRB) countries have territories in this ecoregion: Austria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia and Ukraine.




  • » River Basin Management
    The best way to protect and manage water is by close international co-operation between all the countries within the river basin – bringing together all interests upstream and downstream. All countries of the European Union are using a river basin approach for water management since the adoption of the EU Water Framework Directive.


Share this page